Skip over navigation
mySkills myFuture Start Page


certifying organization info

American Board of Physician Specialties


Certification in Ophthalmology requires candidates to demonstrate knowledge in medical and surgical diseases of the eye. Candidates should be prepared to demonstrate knowledge in the areas of anatomy, contact lenses, cornea, electrophysiology, external disease, eyelids, general medicine (diabetes, hypertension, etc.), glaucoma, immunology, intraocular inflammation and uveitis, intraocular tumors, keratorefractive surgery, lacrimal apparatus, laser, lens and cataracts, microbiology, neuro-ophthalmology, ocular drug toxicity, ocular examination and diagnostic tests, ocular manifestations of systemic disease, ocular trauma, ophthalmic pathology, orbit, pediatric ophthalmology, pharmacology, physiology, radiology and imaging, retina, strabismus, and vitreous.

Ophthalmology Website


Work Experience Required? Yes

Oral or Written Exam Required? Yes

Renewal Required? Every 8 Year(s)

Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)? Yes

Renew through Re-Examination? No

Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)? No

Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)? No

Site Map  |   Tell Us What You Think  |   Developers  |   Download: Download Adobe PDF Reader Download Microsoft PowerPoint Viewer Download Microsoft Word Viewer Download Microsoft Excel Viewer