Skip over navigation
mySkills myFuture Start Page

Certified Clinical Documentation Specialist

certifying organization info

Association of Clinical Documentation Improvement Specialists
Certified Clinical Documentation Specialist
35 Village Street Middleton
M 01949


Clinical documentation specialists understand a wide range of specialized disciplines, including education in anatomy and physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology; knowledge of official medical coding guidelines, CMS, and private payer regulations related to the Inpatient Prospective Payment System; an ability to analyze and interpret medical record documentation and formulate appropriate physician queries; and an ability to benchmark and analyze clinical documentation program performance. The Certified Clinical Documentation Specialist (CCDS) credential provides a mark of distinction for this unique profession. Applicants who pass the certifying exam receive the designation.

Certified Clinical Documentation Specialist Website


Work Experience Required? Yes

Oral or Written Exam Required? Yes

Renewal Required? Every 2 Year(s)

Renew through Continuing Educational Units(CEU)? Yes

Renew through Re-Examination? No

Renew through Continuing Professional Development(CPD)? No

Does applicant have choice of at least two options from above for renewal (CEU, CPD, or exam)? No

Exam Details: Third Party Exam Center

<a title="AMP" href="" target="_blank">AMP</a>&nbsp;provides certification program support for clients across a wide variety of healthcare industries, including nursing specialties, allied health, clinical, and veterinary.